PDA

View Full Version : What bullet mold for a Beretta 96 40 S&W

bessemer20
11-14-2014, 09:40 AM
I am new to casting bullets. I currently shoot 180gr fmj and would like to know what you would recommend for a mold to cast bullets. Thanks.

badgerblaster
11-14-2014, 10:52 AM
I've been using Lee's 175 gr tumble lube with LLA (lee liquid alox). Mold is TL401-175-SWC. I casted up a couple hundred of these last night and have shot 1,000s of these through my .40 High Power.
I've been casting a couple of years now and this bullet is very easy with great results.

popper
11-14-2014, 11:28 AM
Either of the Lees, but I changed to an accurate 165 when the Lee wore out. I HiTek coat them so no LG is needed. I'll probably get a modified 180 next year. Had leading problems in the PX4 until I coated. XD did fine with any lube, but smoky with Alox.

tazman
11-14-2014, 05:41 PM
I have been shooting the Lee 401-175-tc standard lube groove. I size to .401 and tumble lube with White Label 45-45-10.
I get perfect feeding. no leading, and accuracy comparable to jacketed.
It seems to be the best situation I could have.

bessemer20
11-15-2014, 12:14 AM
Thanks to all for the information. You answered my questions about all my questions.

Drdarrin
11-22-2014, 04:05 PM
Have you slugged the bore on your 96 yet? I own a 96D and my bore measures .4035. I've also had the opportunity to slug the bores on two other 96 barrels. Both of them both measured over .403.

If your's measures the same, I think you will be disappointed with the performance of cast bullets in the 96. I know I am.

dondiego
11-23-2014, 10:58 AM
Have you slugged the bore on your 96 yet? I own a 96D and my bore measures .4035. I've also had the opportunity to slug the bores on two other 96 barrels. Both of them both measured over .403.

If your's measures the same, I think you will be disappointed with the performance of cast bullets in the 96. I know I am.

Correctly fitted cast boolits will work just fine.

Drdarrin