PDA

View Full Version : New to the endangered list.......

Knarley
02-06-2008, 06:34 PM
I'm afraid that free wheel weights are going by way of the Doe-doe bird. I remember when they couldn't give a guy enough of them, and if you didn't get out of there quick, they'd over load your truck.
Heard tell yesterday of $25.00 fer 1/2 a five gallon bucket full. I hope this don't last, or you'll see me sneaken through parkin' lots with a pliers[smilie=1:
Knarley :castmine:

jleneave
02-06-2008, 07:16 PM
I know what you mean. I am just getting into bullet casting and I am having some trouble getting wheel weights. I have searched all over the county that I live in and even all the surrounding couties. I have 2 or 3 places that I can get WW, but I do have to pay for them at each place. At one location I give $30.00 for a five gallon bucket, but I actually get about a bucket and a half. One of the reasons that I wanted to start casting bullets was to save money, not the only reason but an important one. I am starting to wonder if maybe I should have waited or picked another hobby. I had one guy at a tire shop that told me that he had just talked with a scrap dealer and he could get $1.50 per lbs for his WW. I told him that he better get over there and sell them before the scrap dealer changed his mind. I have just been trying to hoard all the WW that I can find before I sink a crap load of money into bullet molds, a lubrisizer, and all the accesories that go along with it. I have collected about 1000lbs of WW so far and have started melting them down into ingots. I figure when I get up to about 2000lbs I will go ahead and spring for all the expensive equipment. I think that 2000lbs would be enough to keep me busy for a long time and could justify the $$ for the equipment as I don't shoot near as much as some of the other guys on here.

JohnSmiles
02-06-2008, 07:46 PM
I have collected a little over 500 lbs of lead, 345 being cleaned ww's.