PDA

View Full Version : Prepping and starting of a new bore for shooting cast.

Ronnie Dale
10-10-2014, 06:45 PM
Bear with me here if this is a common question. I am still new to cast. I have a 26" 1-12 twist MGM barrel coming for my TC encore chambered for 30-30win. The main purpose for this barrel is as a testbed for what does and doesn't work in my new hobby of bullet casting and powdercoating

Generally speaking I haven't put much stock in "barrel break in" claims but I would like to know how you guys approach prepping a new bore for a lifetime of primarily CB shooting.

303Guy
10-10-2014, 06:56 PM
You might try paper patching. It polishes up a dark bore pretty well. You might need a hundred or so such loads and you may well find yourself hooked but at the very least you will have experienced paper patching. But the bore should then be very ready for a life of cast boolits.

My understanding is that the 30-30 is about the most ideal cast boolit chambering (and good for paper patching too). I can't say because I don't have one.

ShooterAZ
10-10-2014, 07:03 PM
Just clean it & shoot it, then clean it & shoot it is what I'd do...

Scharfschuetze
10-10-2014, 07:40 PM
I've polished up some rougher than normal barrels with the Wheeler fire lapping kit. It's turned a few average barrels into usable barrels and has cut down on fouling significantly on a few military barrels. The vast majority of my barrels (mostly surplus rifles) have never needed its ministrations. I note now that someone (might be Wheeler) has gun powder formulated with abrasive in it to do the same as the original kit, but without impregnating the bullets/boolits with the various grits of abrasive.