PDA

View Full Version : Time between casting/shooting

rockrat
10-09-2014, 08:15 PM
Just wondering how long you wait from casting a boolit, to sizing and shooting it? Also, air cooled vs. water cooled.

btroj
10-09-2014, 08:22 PM
Depends. I like to let them sit a week or two. What I won't do is let a shortage of aged bullets keep me from shooting!

I tend to water drop everything out of habit. If I air cooled I would want 2 weeks min of aging of I could but again, I shoot when I want, not when the bullets are aged.

histed
10-09-2014, 08:23 PM
I'm fairly new to this, but I don't wait long at all. Cast, let them cool, tumble lube, load and shoot - often within 24 hours. At this point I'm shooting as cast. Mine are COWW or 50/50 COWW/Pb, air cooled.

Shiloh
10-09-2014, 09:13 PM
Ten days-two weeks.
I usually have enough to load by planning ahead.

Shiloh

tazman
10-09-2014, 09:21 PM
I like to wait at least 2 days before loading. If I am trying something new I will often load and shoot in 24 hours. I water drop so most boolits are tough enough in a day.

Bryan527
10-11-2014, 10:25 AM
I wait 24 hours before I size them. I only size and lube what I intend to load immediately, though.

Foto Joe
10-12-2014, 10:01 AM
I can't find my air cooled data but with water dropped COWW's I've found that an initial hardness of 17.2 and full hardness of 21.8 after seven days. A three week test showed no more hardening than the 21.8. The only data that I can find on my air cooled COWW's was 9.5 on day one and 10.1 on day four. I believe that it took almost two weeks to get up to the 12.5 which is normal for the COWW's that I use.