PDA

View Full Version : Can I use straight WW or do I need to make a "mix"

mugsie
02-04-2008, 09:17 AM
I'll be casting for 44 mag, 45 lc and 357 mag. I'm really new to this having just melted my first ingots of pure WW's this weekend. Can I cast with straight WW or do I need to add some tin to the mix? I have bars of 100% tin but what would be the ratio I need to come close to Lyman #2? How do I go about calculating it all out?
Thanks....

jgh4445
02-04-2008, 10:02 AM
I am about to start casting for the exact same calibers and have the exact same question. I also would like to know where one gets bars of tin. To be honest, the only "tin" I knew anything about, till I started in this casting business, could be found on the barn roof. I don't suppose that is what ya'll mean by "tin" huh? I too would like to end up with something closey resembling Lyman #2, but am absolutely clueless as to how to do it. I've only cast pure lead RB's for my Flinters. Alloys are brand new to me. I've done searches and see references to tin and antimony, but the assuption is that the reader knows what the writer is talking about and just what metals and such, and exactly how much, make up this additive.

w30wcf
02-04-2008, 10:30 AM
mugsie,

The composition of what is referenced as Lyman #2 has varied over the years from tin/lead alloys to 90/5/5 (90% lead/5%tin/5%antimony) which I feel is the true Lyman #2 alloy.

For your intended use, though, I would suggest the addition of 2% tin to your w.w. I have been using that combination for the past 30+ years in similar applications with very good results. The addition of the tin is by weight so, for example, for 5# w.w. [80 oz. (16 oz.'s per lb x 5 lbs.)] add 2% which = 1.6 oz.'s of tin.

Have fun.
w30wcf

mugsie
02-04-2008, 11:01 AM
W30WCF - thanks for the info. Does this equate to a particular harness level or am I making it all too complicated? Would 2% tin be sufficient for the calibers I'm casting for? Thanks again folks....

JSnover