PDA

View Full Version : I quit on the Marlin 1894P .44

44man
02-04-2008, 09:13 AM
It has been almost 2 years since I started playing with this thing. I have tried every load and powder and all boolits from 245 to 330 gr's. I was hoping to get something reliable for the running deer and standing deer shoot at 100 yd's.
I keep reading here and the levergun forum to use over size boolits but have no idea how. Even tried real soft boolits and every other alloy I could make.
I made molds for 3 boolits, .432", 433" and .434". Also lapped 3 Lee size dies. I find the largest boolit that will chamber is .4335 and the groove to groove size is .434". Even bump up will not work to make this *** shoot.
I have one 250 gr boolit that will shoot at 50 yd's, sometimes going into 1 ragged hole but only with 7 gr's of Unique. However 5" at 100 yd's is the best it will do. Every other boolit will range from a minimum of 5" to 8" or more at 100. Once in a great while something like a group appears but can not be duplicated.
I have also done extensive work on the rifle, no tight spots in the bore, it has no barrel band, forearm floats, magazine tube floats in the reciever, etc.
Anyway, here are the best I have done at 100 along with a decent 50 yd group.

pdawg_shooter
02-04-2008, 09:19 AM
Do it the easy way. Paper patch !!!!

softpoint
02-04-2008, 10:00 AM
I've had that same problem with 2 .44 Marlins, although I've seen a couple that shot pretty good. I couldn't get those two to shoot jacketed worth a hoot either.

w30wcf
02-04-2008, 10:08 AM
44man,
Sorry to hear of your frustrating experiences with your .44 Marlin 1894P .
A friend of mine had trouble getting his .44 Marlin to shoot cast bullets.
He was using the Keith style bullet and groups were in the 3" range @ 50 yards.

He did not check his barrel dimensions, but I suggested he try using a .06" thick LDPE (Low Density Polyethylene) wad under the bullet.