PDA

View Full Version : Newbie Question

AFretired
02-01-2008, 12:43 PM
I have been reloading for several years but am trying to get started in casting. I have all the basic tools and equipment. But what I am needing to know is the details. I had someone teach me reloading and all the do's and don'ts but no one around me does casting anymore.

I need to know if there is any special way to clean lead WW before they are melted down and fluxed for leading. I have 3 5-gallon buckets of WW's and just need some know how.

Question 2 Do I need to prep the molds in any way since they are new?

mroliver77
02-01-2008, 01:41 PM
You only need put them in a pot and add heat. If there are modern WW from the last 10? years you need to watch for zinc WW and cull these out as they will ruin your alloy. Use only enough heat to melt the lead and clips, junk and zinc weights will float to the surface. You want a skimmer of some sort to skim the crud and dispose of this in a strong covered can of some sort.(landfill?) Do NOT ADD COLD WEIGHTS TO HOT ALLOY!! as a steam explosion can happen from trapped moister. You dont want to learn this the hard way! I know:( Ladle clean alloy into some sort of mold to cast suitable ingots for your casting pot.
I clean new molds with hot detergent water and a stiff bristle brush followed by preheating on a hotplate or the top of a casting pot. Some prefer carb cleaner(and it seems to work well) or alkyhol. Hope this helps. Jay

cbrick
02-01-2008, 02:24 PM