PDA

View Full Version : FIrst time casting

stanford
09-11-2014, 09:59 AM
Hi everyone, I just joined the board the other day and I have a few questions about casting lead. I just got back into reloading and decided to cast this time because I didn't do it two decades ago when I was shooting every weekend. My knowledge on casting is only on the many, many guides and videos I have seen. Yet there are still questions in my understanding of certain things.

My first challenge is this. When you buy/beg/borrow your lead and you put them into your melting pot then cast them into the calibers you desire, how do you know what to add into the lead or if you even need to add anything into the lead for hardness. This is the only challenge I have right now because I have never done it before.

I just purchased some lead from one of the folks here, once my lead arrives what is the process in the pot to actually casting the bullet?

1. Do I just cast a few bullets that I want then air cool some and water cool some?
2. Then test the hardness a few days later, then a week later to check the BHN?
3. If the BHN is not at the desired level add whatever is needed to made the lead harder then repeat my test?

I may be going about this all wrong and maybe I am trying to be too technical. I just don't want to start off learning all the wrong things first.

If one of you folks bought lead from some random dude, once the lead arrives what is your process to get it from cast to finished product? If I can get a good answer to this the mystery would be solved for me. I think I mentioned this a couple times already in the post, I did this because in my experience of posting questions online, no matter how simple the question is someone always comes back and asks what are you trying to do.

Also, is there a chart for BHN hardness for whatever caliber you are going to shoot with?

Thanks everyone.

Stan

Dusty Bannister
09-11-2014, 10:59 AM