PDA

View Full Version : Dip or bottom pour?

oneMOA
08-17-2014, 04:32 PM
With my recent purchase of a BPCR in 45/70, I've been testing boolits and the 535 Postell seems to be the most accurate with my 1/18 twist barrel. I'm beginning to look at casting boolits for this rifle and browsing this forum for an education. I have zero experience in casting boolits so I don't want to go down the wrong path with equipment and have to buy twice. Today at the range and speaking with a couple of BPCR silhouette shooter who seem to have good knowledge of the BPCR rifle as they both own one and shoot it well, about their casting advice.

Both advised me to go with a melting pot and ladle because this method would better fill the mould cavity and produce better boolits, as opposed to a bottom pour furnace like the Pro Melt. I have learned from this forum about the importance of mould temp and casting temp and the need for a consistant and generally fast rythm to keep the mould temp up. It seems to me that a ladle dipping in a pot would be less consistant and temps would vary when going from the pot to mould and back again for each cast.

Does this make any sense for this size of boolit? Would a bottom pour furnace give me problems with making quality boolits? Most likely a single cavity mould would be in play here as well.

RED333
08-17-2014, 04:47 PM
A ladle can be used to pressure pour, I started that way. Cast "00" that way for a few months.
Then went to a bottom pour, if I have to go back to a ladle I will, but I like the bottom pour.
You can get good with a ladle and keep your mold hot, I have a buddy that says he can out cast
me using a ladle and me with the bottom pour, I am not gona race him. I have seem him cast,
he is fast.
Let a few others chime in before you decide.

TXGunNut
08-17-2014, 05:00 PM