PDA

View Full Version : Newbie question - keyholing

pdgraham
09-16-2005, 11:32 AM
Hi guys.. newbie here.. my first post..

I started casting about a month ago and I've have some pretty good luck with everything except my 9mm castings.

A little history might be in order.

I bought a bunch of lee stuff from Bose.. they've seem to have the cheapest prices.

Here's what I got..

Lee 2-Cavity Bullet Mold TL356-124-2R (356 Diameter) 124 Grain Round Nose

Lee 6-Cavity Bullet Mold TL452-230-2R (452 Diameter) 230 Grain Round Nose

Lee 2-Cavity Bullet Mold TL452-230-2R (452 Diameter) 230 Grain Round Nose

Lee 6-Cavity Bullet Mold TL452-230-2R (452 Diameter) 230 Grain Round Nose

Lee 2-Cavity Bullet Mold TL358-158SWC (358 Diameter) 158 Grain Semi Wad Cutter

Along with a Production pot.. and of course alox lube.

I'm using Wheel Weights... at $24/100lbs

I'm tickled pink about the 358 and 452 molds, I get good accuracy (no keyholing), casts 80%+ good bullets and I don't seem to need to size them.

I've shot more than 800 rounds of the 452 and even got 17th out of 38 in an IDPA match with them.. These molds "Rock" :D

The 358 hasn't had as much of a workout, about 250 rounds in 38 special. No problems, good accuracy and no keyholeing.

The 356 dies.. well.. I'm really bummed about that. Both the 2 and 6 cavity seem to cast good bullets but they keyhole in all 3 of my 9mms, 1 Beretta and 2 glocks with Lone Wolf aftermarket barrels.

None of these guns have been fussy about what they ate in the past and they have been good with other MFGs lead bullets.. It's just this one that they hate.

I'd say it's a bad mold if it wasn't for the fact that I have two molds doing the same thing.

I can "fix" the problem by gas checking and sizing to "356".

The problem would "not" fix with just sizing to "356" alone without the gas checks.

Sizing to "357" doesn't work at all and there isn't enough bullet grabbing the sidewalls of the sizer to provide enough friction to set the gas check.