PDA

View Full Version : When you buy New Casting Dies...

Jim_P
08-08-2014, 07:48 PM
OK, So I'm new to casting (not reloading). But just a curious question...

Here's the 'conditions'.
You are gainfully employed and make a good salary.
Retirement and Medical expenses are covered.
You don't have a significant other (wife for us politically uncorrect) to ask permission.
You tend to do things right the first time.

So here's the question: When you buy new dies, do you get the handles/top punch/all the goodies to go with it (sizing die, et al)? Or should I only have one or two sets of handles and swap them back and forth?

tazman
08-08-2014, 07:56 PM
To start with, until you are sure you will continue casting, swap the handles back and forth. It is not a big deal.
If you decide you will continue, you will almost certainly end up with handles for all your molds.
How much money do you want to throw at it all from the start?

BruceB
08-08-2014, 08:57 PM
I get the impression that when you say "dies", you actually mean "MOULDS".

Dies are one thing, and they are used both in the form of loading DIES, and also a different type used for sizing bullets...... bullet-sizing DIES, which are where you need the top punches you mentioned.

I have something around sixty moulds, and only maybe fifteen or twenty top punches, so a full set of top punches is not "really" necessary..... nice, but not necessary in my opinion (after fifty years in this hobby).

To cast the bullets, we use MOULDS (or "molds" for the less-enlightened ....smile).

It's nice to have handles for each mould, but most of us have many more moulds than we do sets of handles, due mostly to cost. It's the work of a minute or two to switch handles from mould to mould, IF the moulds are from the same manufacturer in many cases. It's a hodge-podge of handle sizes, and we have to pretty-much "play it by ear".