PDA

View Full Version : Small Engine Question

Boz330
08-07-2014, 08:27 AM
I have a Landmaster UTV with a 16HP Briggs Vanguard engine. Lately it has been surging at low speeds. It didn't use to do that. I use this thing around the farm for spraying, seeding and fertilizing which is all done at slower speeds. Does anyone have any ideas on how to correct this. I think it could be related to the governor but I've never messed with small engines much.

Thanks
Bob

tomme boy
08-07-2014, 08:37 AM
What kind of gas are you running? Ethanol in not very friendly to carbureted engines. You might have a little water in the gas too.

Beagle333
08-07-2014, 09:22 AM
Surging is usually caused by running too lean. Check the plug and make sure it is good and firing hot, then check fuel lines and filters to make sure not clogged or possibly cracked and sucking air somewhere. If that is all good, then you can start adjusting the screws on the carb to give it more fuel. Often times I have seen this caused by a cracked/dry-rotted fuel line letting air in.

WILCO
08-07-2014, 10:40 AM
I think it could be related to the governor but I've never messed with small engines much.

Hi Bob!

Take it to a qualified small engine mechanic.
I did after I screwed things up.

country gent
08-07-2014, 10:46 AM
I have found on alot of small engines that sit alot gas goes bad in time and dosnt run as good. I use a small amount of Stabill in the fuel on them. Could be a build up of varnish in the fuel system try sefoam additive in the gas just a ounce or so should do it there.

rockrat
08-07-2014, 11:00 AM
Sounds like your low speed jet is getting clogged up. First thing I would try is cleaning out the gas tank and filling it with non-alcohol gas, if you can find it. Use Techron injector cleaner at about double/triple strength. You might be able to get the low speed jet unclogged that way. Try changing plugs along with the clean fuel.

docone31
08-07-2014, 11:17 AM