PDA

View Full Version : A few noob questions, I promise I read the stickies!

adanymous
08-07-2014, 12:28 AM
Hey guys, I have been lurking here for a bit and have come up with a few questions I can't find answers for...But I guess to be polite I should introduce myself first.

My name is Dan, I have been casting "boolits" for probably 10 years intermittently with limited success. I actually got my dad into it which he took way farther than I ever did, and now Im back to being interested. I mold RB for all my BP rifles, and I have a pretty fair collection if I do say so and have had great success with them. I actually won a flintlock shoot a week or so ago with some home cast RB in a carolina style FL! I have even cast a few solid 18k gold bullets and some silver too (lost wax, I know it doesn't really count, but they're really loaded!)

So here is where my interest re-peaked in casting. I have a 300 aac, my research says that at sub sonic speeds bullets won't expand, however a long heavy bullet from a 1/8 barrel will lose stability after any sort of impact and begin to tumble, thereby imparting more damage to the target. I want to hunt with the rifle (just for kicks) and I don't want a clean pass through, so it seems this is my best option. This is a short list of my equipment to prevent unnecessary future questions. I bought the PB 247gr 4 cavity mold from NOE, the man there said I would not need gas checks at sub 1050 velocities, so I bought his recommended mold. Im very happy with it, its a beautiful mold and works way better than my lee RB molds. I bought a lee 20 lb bottom pour pot, haven't gotten it yet. Lyman 4500 heated lube sizer. No dies yet, waiting on my cerrosafe to show up. Nearly endless supply of range mined lead. I guess I need WW so Ill start looking.

questions in order of importance.

1. What the heck does that abbreviation you guys use for your wife mean?