PDA

View Full Version : What size lee sizer for 45 acp?

Outer Rondacker
07-31-2014, 09:05 AM
Hi, I have been casting for a few years now. I own a lyman lube sizer and lots of bullet molds. Does not mean I have a clue what I am doing.(lol) I have never cast bullets for any auto before. I picked up a smith and wesson 4516 this week. For guys who dont know the model gun its a compact 4506. I also picked up a cheap Lee six banger in 200g RF and need to find a sizer that will work for me. I have been looking at the lee sizing dies in .451 and .452. What is the better way to go without slugging my barrel. This is just going to be for plinking. I was also thinking of using the dry PC tumble lube way with the cool whip container. Not 100% sure about going this route might just also lee lube them. I know one thing I am trying to get away from that lyman lube sizer. Dies are not cheap, there a pain to change, lube is a pain, the list goes on and on. Yes it works good I just dont see the need for using it on a none gas check bullet. Sorry for the book.

Gun 4516 S&W 45acp. Mold lee 200g RF. Looking for what size lee sizer I should use? .451 or .452? Thanks

RobS
07-31-2014, 11:15 AM
.452 is standard........easier to shoot a boolit that "fits" vs one that is too small especially if you are going to use a tumble lube i.e. alox or 45-45-10 Recluse lube which both are sold at White Label Lubes at less cost. By the way if you think that using the Lyman is messing wait until you go after tumble lubing as it is messy too and then the seating dies end up with build-up from the tuble lube on the nose of the boolit etc. PC tumble lubing I've found takes more time yet with setting up the boolits on a sheet to be cooked/cured with another step of an oven. You may want to do more reading on those different methods of lubing before you dive head first into the pool.

ReloaderFred
07-31-2014, 12:29 PM