PDA

View Full Version : Bore Slugging

Harry
01-24-2008, 04:56 PM
When is bore slugging warranted? I am new to casting and reloading and am doing alot of reading on this site (great information). I have 30-30 and 30-06 rifles that I don't think have been fired alot. They were used for deer hunting for about 30 yrs and maybe had a total of 500 - 1000 rnds. fired. Also have a 38/357 S&W Highway Patrolman that has very little firing. Should these be slugged?

Thanks,

454PB
01-24-2008, 05:17 PM
Most casters would say slug everything. In truth, if you get good results shooting "standard" size boolits, it's not really required. However, if initial results are bad (leading, inaccuracy) then slugging is the first step to fix the problem.

BruceB
01-24-2008, 05:19 PM
Harry, a warm welcome to you!

After messing with cast bullets for quite a few years now, I find myself leaning rather strongly to the "keep it simple" school of thought. On your question of "when" to slug the bore(s), I'd say this:

IF your guns in question are reasonably modern, reasonably common, and made by mainstream makers, I wouldn't bother slugging UNLESS you encounter a problem such as very poor accuracy or severe leading.

That statement is based on my current level of experience and present methods, and one of my 'current' procedures is that I usually start out using a bullet diameter LARGER than the "nominal" figure for a given cartridge or caliber. That is, in nominal-.308 bores (.30-06, .308 Winchester, etc.) I am generally using .311-diameter cast bullets, For my four S&W .357s, I use .359" diameter. In my .45-70, I shoot .459-.461" bullets. These diameters shoot VERY well in my guns, and without leading.