PDA

View Full Version : NIB Lyman Big Dipper won't melt pure lead. Ideas?

ShinyPartsUp
07-27-2014, 07:54 PM
I bought a Lyman Big Dipper as a dedicated pot for pure lead ball casting. But even after hours, it barely melts the smallest hunk of pure lead, and forget my 5 lb. ingots. Any ideas why it won't get hot enough? It is a pretty simple machine. Anybody else experience this?

Thanks in advance.

Mk42gunner
07-27-2014, 08:08 PM
Bad adjustment on the thermostat/ rheostat?

I have zero experience with the Lyman Big Dipper pot; but if it is NIB as you say, I would take it back.

Robert

engineer401
07-27-2014, 09:59 PM
Bad adjustment on the thermostat/ rheostat?

I have zero experience with the Lyman Big Dipper pot; but if it is NIB as you say, I would take it back.

Robert

I agree. Send it back. I bought a Lee 20# Magnum Melter just for melting old fishing and wheel weights. If it breaks, the loss is small. It's been very reliable. I melted pure lead a few times with it. It took a while but it worked.

imashooter2
07-27-2014, 10:31 PM
Do a search. Not many folks are happy with their "Big Dipper." It's not a very good product.

zuke
07-28-2014, 07:06 AM
But it's a lyman, that make's it 100 time's better then LEE,doesn't it?

ShinyPartsUp
07-28-2014, 08:05 AM
Well, I did exactly what you should not do. **WARNING -- DO THIS AND ANY BAD OUTCOMES ARE YOUR OWN FAULT, NOT MINE**

I opened up the top plate (except the one stripped screw they installed at the factory :holysheep). The contacts that turn the thermostat on and off were too far apart and disconnecting (breaking the electrical connection) too often as a result. I played with it but never got the pot to get to enough temperature to melt lead consistently. So, I just pushed the contacts together with needle nose pliers. I used the electrical plug as a means to regulate temperature. It was not perfect, but I was able to melt the ingots and ladle enough pretty round balls in several sizes.