PDA

View Full Version : CCI Aluminum "Brass"

GoodOlBoy
07-24-2014, 12:25 AM
I have dug, I have searched, I have looked. Would there be ANY interest in the old CCI aluminum shells (357 mag, etc) in swapping and selling or are they still as useless as they were when CCI was still putting them out?

Hope this is a good enough place to post this, couldn't think of a better area.

GoodOlBoy

Sgtonory
07-24-2014, 12:54 AM
I would rather load 38 special hot than use aluminum cased 357.

obssd1958
07-24-2014, 01:02 AM
Not sure that I speak for anyone but me, but I don't even pick it up when it's laying on the ground free...

Not trying to rain on your parade, just answering truthfully for me.

Bullwolf
07-24-2014, 01:33 AM
Some of the CCI aluminum "brass" cases are Boxer primed, and some are Berdan primed.

When I worked as a commercial re-loader, we separated and sold for scrap all of our CCI aluminum cases, and any steel cases from the range as well.

The Boxer primed stuff at least may be useful to someone. I have heard of folks who reloaded it a couple of times.

I personally have not messed around with the aluminum cases myself. I have reloaded some steel cases for auto calibers both intentionally, and a few times on accident.

Sometimes I reload steel cases as disposable "brass" for places where I am unlikely to find the cases later, or when I just don't want to bother looking for them. Like when in the mud, deep snow, or those really good camouflage leaves.

Whenever I lose brass, it makes me want to shoot revolvers more.

- Bullwolf

GoodOlBoy
07-24-2014, 06:29 AM