PDA

View Full Version : Comparison of LC Match and Lapua .308 brass

fastfire
07-03-2014, 12:04 AM
Today I happened into 100 once fired LC Match .308 brass.
Been thinking about getting 2-300 Lapua.
Does anyone have experience with both brands and your thoughts?
I have been using LC 13 (have 400+)for a few months and am on the 4th loading.
I anneal before each sizing also length trim each time.

Bigslug
07-03-2014, 12:39 AM
The Lapua was ready to rock out of the box as far as case weight. We sorted and the LC LR brass and it was not as consistent in weight as a box of Lapua brass. However; after sorting by weight, FL sizing, and trimming, the groups out from 600 yds out to 1,000 were actually pretty dang close.

And there you have it. Personally, I'd rather pay for Lapua and not fritter away my life on case prep. My Highpower days were spent mostly with IMI brass, which was good stuff, but it got weight segregated and primer pocket uniformed. The Lapua I just unbox and shoot.

Scharfschuetze
07-03-2014, 01:11 AM
I like both and find little difference between them for accuracy or case life. The LC Match cases (prior to M118 Special Ball and M118LR) did not have a crimped in primer and thus were/are easier to match prep.

I once brought a foot locker full of once fired Lapua brass back from a deployment in Asia. I gave most of it away to fellow NM shooters, but I've still got what is probably a lifetime supply of the stuff.

fastfire
07-03-2014, 02:13 AM
LC 66 Match, on the head stamp and red primer sealant, no crimp primer.

Bigslug
07-03-2014, 08:41 AM
In 1966, they probably hadn't even THOUGHT of a lot of the case prep issues Benchrest shooters now apply as a matter of course, let alone manufactured the cases with those issues in mind.

I'm not saying it's junk - I'd happily use it - but it's not likely to be on the same plane of existence as the new Scandinavian stuff.

Larry Gibson
07-03-2014, 01:45 PM