PDA

View Full Version : Cast my first boolits.... Now what?

notsorichguy
06-25-2014, 11:53 PM
Well, I guess you could say I'm a long time lurker.... This I believe is my first ever post on this site, I usually hang my hat at canadiangunnutz dot com.

I have been reloading and shooting rifles, pistols and shotguns for many years. I learned to reload centre fire rifles at my daddy's knee. At 7 or 8 yrs old if the old man is to believed! I refined my abilities at the hand of my father-in-law (he sired 4 daughters, I'm the only in-law that is somewhat "gunny"). I've been with his daughter for just shy of 20yrs, so I've had a bit of practice in the reloading arts! I have been told on several occasions I'm a bit of a gun nut. I consider myself a rifle looney with a heavy leaning towards pistols and MSRs. I use "hunting practice" as an excuse to shoot as much as I do, but in all honesty I just like to shoot sh*t!

Long story short (it still seems pretty long....) I started shooting cast projectiles as it was much cheaper to buy cast than jacketed boolits, then I joined an indoor range where cast pistol rounds were mandated by our govt. "overseers".... It was just a small step to transition to making my own....

I have found a steady supply of lead. Every 6 months or so the club gets together and cleans out the bullet trap, usually nets 600-800 lbs of castable lead. Members of the club are allowed to take it with dibs going to the ones who volunteered to actually clean out the traps..... Usually it's the same 5-6 guys that volunteer and usually the club sells 1000lbs a year to the recycler......so I think the system is working.