PDA

View Full Version : Effect of heat on elevation

loadedbutbroke
06-22-2014, 06:41 AM
Hello I am quite new to reloading and shooting .45-70 Gov with black-powder. I shot yesterday, for the first time, in hotter weather and found that the elevation required for 600yrds went up 10 minuets on my previous sight settings. There must be a reason for this can anyone explain it to me? Is there some way to work out how much to put on? Wind was light but tricky sometimes head on.

Secondly I am told that these boolits drift and that compensation needs to be made on the windage to compensate for this, how do I know how much to put on and which way?

Spec which is the same for all 600yrd shoots

Pedersoli Silhouette 32"
Soule rear sight and adjustable front sight.

530 grn Postell
60 grn Swiss #4
neck sized

Many thanks
Adrian

KAF
06-22-2014, 07:21 AM
Head wind causes shots to go low because of the trajectory at long ranges such as 600 yd. Wind hits the bullet on top on the way down. Light will also cause elevation changes to the sights, clouds moving over etc.
556gr bullet at 1000yds has a 67ft mid range trajectory, 600 yds a bit less. Lots of odd winds up there at the bullet is in the winds along time at long range, so more effect.
Check this site out for wind info and use the chart at the bottom, it is correct........ http://tmtpages.com/windvector.htm

KAF
06-22-2014, 07:23 AM
Oh and YES the temps and barometric pressure will effect bullet flight. Hot air less denser then cold air. Try to find flight charts for what pilots call Density Air (da)

JSnover
06-22-2014, 07:37 AM
If your point of impact was lower, there was something else going on. Higher temperatures and reduced air density should have flattened your trajectory, making the boolit strike higher at 600. The headwind would do it.

Hickok
06-22-2014, 08:05 AM