PDA

View Full Version : Well I feel like an Idiot...................

Steve E
06-19-2014, 10:03 AM
I have been using a Lee Factory Crimp Die for a couple of years now in 45 Colt (and some .454 Casull) and tried boolits in .452 to .454. It didn't occur to me that the FCD sizes the bullets down to the same diameter even though I read that and have seen it talked about in the various Forums online. Seemed a little strange that my rifles didn't like any of the boolits of various sizes. Little did I know.

Steve........

62chevy
06-19-2014, 11:08 AM
On my 45 acp I just remove the flare, not easy to get that adjusted right. But the crimp on a colt 45 is a roll crimp not a taper crimp. The .380 FCD just would not stop swagging the boolit so removed it and use the seating die to just remove the flare. Suppose the FCD could be reamed out but why when the seating die is working.

DeanWinchester
06-19-2014, 11:54 AM
I only use one kind of brass and I spot check for brass thickness. I turned a slip fit wooden dowel to the carbide ring and used some diamond lapping compound to get about a half thousandth out of my 9mm FCD. Doing that and using only FC brass, I do not swage my boolits down.
You can FEEL when it happens. You can actually feel it pass by the driving bands and lube grooves. You do not want to feel that in the handle of your press.

Its easier for for most people to just write the FCD off and not use it, but a little experimentation and elbow grease will make it work and you get the benefit of using it. I know mine sizes further down the case than my actual sizing die does. Add that to the nice crimp the die makes and it was well worth my efforts.
I use FC brass and a lyman 356402 over HS-5 for some of the best shooting 9mm loads I've ever fired.

mdi
06-19-2014, 12:08 PM