PDA

View Full Version : What causes lead on the outside of a case mouth?

FNGC
06-14-2014, 05:23 PM
I'm new to cast bullet shooting but am fascinated with it.
I bought a box of Chey-Cast 30 cal. 165 gr. FN (.309) to load in my Marlin 336 (not making my own YET) and so far am getting pretty good accuracy with a mild plinking load of 8.5 grains of Trail Boss. I'm getting 1226 fps with no leading in the barrel as far as I can see with a 9" bore scope. What's got me baffled is that I'm getting lead on the outside of the case mouth. What causes this?
The second picture is how the load groups at 50 yards.
Thanks!

gray wolf
06-14-2014, 07:03 PM
It could be a few things but my first guess would be your load is not strong enough to open the case mouths enough. Does a new bullet enter the case mouth of a fired round ? how hard of a crimp are you using ?
Nice shooting.

popper
06-14-2014, 08:24 PM
I've heard others say it is too much crimp. Personally I've never had it. Using a ROLL crimp? I just FCD or taper crimp enough to remove any bell you put at the mouth.

Muskyhunter1
06-15-2014, 06:44 AM
Do you have any pics of loaded rounds?

If you are not flaring your case mouth maybe you are shaving off a bit of lead that stays on the outside of the case neck. During firing it gets flattened and is squeezed backward. Just a theory.............

swheeler
06-15-2014, 09:01 AM
I think it has to do with the chamber of the 30/30, the neck on the chamber is longer than the neck on your brass. I had similar results with K31 Swiss and 284 Win brass and 8x56R using 7.62x54r brass. In your case try dusting the bullets in motor mica before loading, may help?

edit- if TB is not your only option you could try a slower powder and see if it helps

chsparkman
06-15-2014, 09:25 AM
Make sure you,be deburred the inside of the case mouth. One of my first mistakes in loading cast.

tward
06-15-2014, 02:54 PM