PDA

View Full Version : New to casting need some alloy Help.

AR15-SBR
01-16-2008, 10:42 AM
Hello, I am new to casting and need some help with my WW alloy.(I already searched A BUNCH) A year, or so, ago I melted down A LOT of WW, made them into 1 pound ingots and stored them for casting.

For Christmas I received the last piece of my casting puzzle, a Lyman 429421 mould.

I gathered all my stuff, degreased the mould with brake cleaner, smoked it with a match while the Lee BP pot heated. When the WW were liquid I fluxed/stired with parafin. The melt looked good.

I started pouring bullets when the pot reached 700 deg. , the first few were predictably flawed(cold mould). Put those back into the pot.

As the melt temp climbed I would try some more, leaving the bullets in the mould to keep it hot. The temp was near 900 before I got bullets to drop that looked anything like a keeper.

And finally to the question. I want to add some Tin solder to the alloy to help fill out the driving bands, but I dont want to go through remelting all my WW ingots again to mix in the tin.:groner:

So, I bought a roll of Lenox Sterling Solder(no flux). If I knew how much, in grains, of the solder to add I could cut off a measured length and add it when I put one of my WW ingots in the Lee BP pot at the same time.

If anyone knows how much, in grains, it would sure help.

Thanks

AR15-SBR

sundog
01-16-2008, 11:09 AM
From the looks of your name, you are a black gun kinda guy. That's the problem! Ship all your WW ingots to me and be done with it! --- Just funnin'...