PDA

View Full Version : (Almost) total noob, need advice

ElMatavenados
06-06-2014, 02:13 AM
Hey all,
I've been coming here for a while, done a lot of lurking, some buying in the Swappin' and Sellin' forum. I've read most (if not all) of the helpful stickies, but I'm at the point where I need to reach out. I'm sure you've all read about 5 bazillion of these types of threads, but if you feel like helping, I assure you that I will be extremely grateful. And God will bless you for your kind deeds!

I'll try to be as succinct as possible, but this might get lengthy.
My goal: 125-ish grain boolits for a Glock 9mm (yes, I know- Glock says not to reload).
Problem: leading.
My loading background: about 10 years or so of loading j-words for rifles, mostly with an old cast iron Herters press, but lately with a new Dillon 550. New to loading for handguns.

Here's what I've done so far. I started with copper plated 115 gr RN, working up to 4 grains of American Select (it was available locally, cheap)- this was just enough to cycle the gun reliably at around 950-1050 fps IIRC. I have fired about 850 of these, and they work well. Next, I slugged my barrel. Micrometer says that the smaller diameter of the slug is .3495-.3500 (depending on where measured), larger is .3555-.3560. I decided to try a .357 mold and sizing kit, so I purchased a Lee .357 125gr RN tumble lube mold (2-cav), and LLA. I went this route because I want to find out if I'm going to be able to be able to shoot cast boolits successfully before I invest in a good mold, lube-sizer, etc. With the cost of these being so high, even for used ones, I took my brother's recommendation and ordered the Lee setup.