PDA

View Full Version : FDH#2 Anybody Shooting Them?

Johnw...ski
01-14-2008, 07:09 AM
Hi,

Back in the late 70's plans were available for a single shot rifle designed by
Frank DeHaas. Well around 1979 I built one useing brass for the receiver to see how the design worked. I built a .22 RF to 7/8 scale and wound up with a very nice single shot rifle which I still shoot. Several years later I started building 3 more receivers with pre heat treated 4130 steel and finished 2 around 1989. They have sat in the rack ever since for a variety of reasons. One is chambered for .35 Wehlen the other for 45-70.

As I mentioned in another thread, I started shooting the 45-70 a few weeks ago for the first time, with mixed results. I believe the problems are mostly load issues and related to the 1 in 14" twist (what was I thinking) of the barrel. This is the fourth 45-70 I have barreled and chambered, the others have all shot well so I am confident in my work. Anyway, I am very happy with the way the rifle functions and feels and once I tighten up the groups I think I will have a real shooter.

Anyone else out there have one of these? I would be interested in hearing any other views on this action. I wonder how many got built and are being used?

Thanks,

John

4060MAY
01-14-2008, 10:28 AM
which one?
The chickopee or the vault action?
He also designed another action built by Dean? Miller
a lot of schuetzen guys are using this one.

Johnw...ski
01-14-2008, 10:45 AM
which one?
The chickopee or the vault action?
He also designed another action built by Dean? Miller
a lot of schuetzen guys are using this one.

As far as I know the FDH#2 was a particular design. The plans call it FDH System No. 2 Rifle.
It's a falling block with a 1" round breach block. The breach block is supported above and below the chamber centerline, seem like it should be quite strong.

John

lastmanout
01-14-2008, 02:34 PM