PDA

View Full Version : Still getting leading

Arrow
05-26-2014, 11:04 PM
I am shooting a glock 20 with kkm barrel. I have a mihec 200 10mm mould. Shooting longshot powder. They are sized .402 and my barrel slugs .4005-.4001. I have tried Lyman moly lube as well as carnauba red. I tested loads from 8.2-9.0 in .2 grain increments. Bullets casted from straight wheel weights. I feel like I have tried everything and still keep getting leading. I am new to casting And I'm getting leading in everything 9mm, 10mm, .44 mag. I'm not too worried about the other two calibers right now, the 10mm is my main concern. What am I doing wrong? Thanks

bruce381
05-26-2014, 11:39 PM
over crimping? OAL to long? jamming into barrel leade?
try differnent powder I have had leading before that was seemingly cured with a powder change.
Thats all I got

Sgtonory
05-26-2014, 11:52 PM
Are your boolits being swaged down? Pull a loaded one. What crimp die?

sigep1764
05-26-2014, 11:54 PM
One my barrels was a little rough when it was new. I shot a few hundred jwordsthrough it and it smoothed up enough and didn't have any more leading. Maybe try a softer lube as well. I am pretty new to this but have had really good luck so far in every 9mm that I have. I now have one load to work in all four of my 9's. Lee 356-120 tc sized 358 lubed with Lyman Alox NRA over 3.7gr of PB at oal of 1.033. YMMV.

freebullet
05-27-2014, 12:38 AM
Pull a boolit and measure it. Over crimping can resize your boolits, that leads to leading.

When using ww and other high antimony leads you can get antimony wash in the barrel. Try describing your leading or better yet post a good pic. That will help folks help you.

singleshot
05-27-2014, 12:39 AM
According to my load data, you're WAY OVER MAX charge and in an over-pressure situation. My data shows a starting load of 7.0 and max of 8.2 grains of Longshot with a COL of 1.26. Start by reducing charge to 7.0 gr and see how that shoots.

Bzcraig
05-27-2014, 01:08 AM