PDA

View Full Version : How about starting a thread of "What I'm doing" in the world of cast boolits ?

WILCO
05-22-2014, 12:01 PM
As suggested by JonB_in_Glencoe, I figured I'd start such a thread. :-P

What I'm doing in the world of cast boolits is strictly small scale, but I'm having fun!
I'm still working on loads for my VZ24 using the LEE C324-175-1R and Alliant 2400.
There's also some boolit lube ideas I've gathered supplies for.
I developed a faster and easier way to reclaim lead from the indoor range, which results in a cleaner base material for smelting.
When the opportunity arises, I like to get out and do some casting on the rainy days. This tends to aid in my casting efforts by producing a better boolit with great fill-out and sharp edges.
Some of the projects take me a while, but I'm not in a race and as said before, I'm having fun.

What are some of the things you're doing?

osteodoc08
05-22-2014, 12:30 PM
I'm still learning the fine art of alloying. I've recently been able to come across linotype and also some solder. I have a few hundred pounds of COWW smelted down and 2 buckets filled to the rim with unsmelted COWW that have been seperated. After that, my stock pile is gone. Looking for more. Until then I will be playing mix master and finding my right alloy mix.

I am also chasing consistency. Consistency in appearance, weight, etc in my handgun boolits. That's mostly what I cast for. 357,41,45acp/lc mostly. Some 9/10mm.

I am also chasing the "magic load" that my primary handguns like. My Smith 686 and blackhawk for 357 and my multiple 41's especially. I'd likely hunt with either my 6" Smith M57 or my Ruger BH Bisley with 5.5" in stainless I received a a graduation present from dad or my 4-5/8" blackhawk I first purchased as my very own first 41mag. I'm keeping records, but would like to keep better and more accurate records including atmospheric readings and accuracy reports.