PDA

View Full Version : need advise on air gun to sting Bambi

goodolejim
05-18-2014, 05:09 PM
We have a deer problem. Deer are killing our fruit trees by eating the bark. A few evenings ago I counted 14 deer in the yard. I live in Salt Lake City with neighbors within 200 feet so am limited to low power guns plus I really don't wish to injure Bambi. I am using a Daisy Powerline 901 which works for one animal but no effect on the others. The 901 is a pump single shot Thinking a semi auto would move more deer away. Department of Wildlife says "Not our problem". Any thoughts or suggestions?

rondog
05-18-2014, 05:31 PM
I have no experience with this, but a friend who does tells me deer can be very tough to shoo away. They just don't "get it", they're only interested in the food. Even thumping them with paintballs only chases them away temporarily. Which is why the Game Rangers give out handfuls of depradation permits in his area to thin them out.

C. Latch
05-18-2014, 05:51 PM
We have a deer problem. Deer are killing our fruit trees by eating the bark. A few evenings ago I counted 14 deer in the yard. I live in Salt Lake City with neighbors within 200 feet so am limited to low power guns plus I really don't wish to injure Bambi. I am using a Daisy Powerline 901 which works for one animal but no effect on the others. The 901 is a pump single shot Thinking a semi auto would move more deer away. Department of Wildlife says "Not our problem". Any thoughts or suggestions?

I own an orchard. I'd consider individual tree shelters. I have had some success using clear plastic bags to create something of a physical barrier around most of the tree. Shelters would be better, but they're pricey.

DougGuy
05-18-2014, 09:03 PM
Some people put pvc pipe around a tree's trunk up far enough to protect the bark from being eaten.

gtgeorge
05-18-2014, 09:18 PM