PDA

View Full Version : Lesson learned today, SLUG YOUR BARREL! Tips for newbies.

RacingRedGT
05-11-2014, 12:02 PM
Ive been having some leading issues. Tried all sorts of things to fix it. Lubing, water dropping, crimping, etc...

Well, I learned a valuable lesson today. SLUG YOUR BARREL!!

I was a dumb newb and bought what molds I thought would work. Well, I was wrong. I bought a .401 for my .40cals, and a .430 for my S&W 629-1 44mag. After tons of googling I thought those would work. Well both my 40s slugged @ .401 and my S&W slugged @ .430. Those numbers are exactly what my molds spit out.

General rule for casting. Bullets should be +.002 bigger than barrel.

I was very intimated by the whole process, ended up being WAYYYY easier than I was making it out to be. I mean it literally took me less than 5 minutes to slug 4 barrels. That time doesn't count making slugs or dismantling the firearms.

*Tips for people like me*

-Buy some lead fishing weights from walmart, or any other pure lead or as close to pure as you can get.

-Throw a few weights in a ladle, put over a fire (If you are casting you should have a ladle) I used the side burner on my grill. Melts pretty fast.

-Pour lead into a used brass casing. I used fired/non-sized pieces brass since its expanded from firing. (This will make a nice round elongated slug.) The casing should be from the caliber being slugged.

-Use a kinetic bullet puller and smack the slug out after it cools (you should have one if you reload)

-Slugs will be sloped on one end, stick that end into barrel. Clean and lube barrel before you start.