PDA

View Full Version : Aluminum Mould vs Iron .45 acp

davemarse
01-07-2008, 11:57 PM
I'm new to the .45 acp and have always cast other calibers in Lyman iron moulds. I'm considering the Lee 452-200-SWC but have reservations about an aluminum mould. I'm considering the 6 cav Lee mould over the Lyman #452460.

Should I be concerned about an aluminum mould?

thanks,
Dave

Forester
01-08-2008, 12:29 AM
I'm new to the .45 acp and have always cast other calibers in Lyman iron moulds. I'm considering the Lee 452-200-SWC but have reservations about an aluminum mould. I'm considering the 6 cav Lee mould over the Lyman #452460.

Should I be concerned about an aluminum mould?

thanks,
Dave

I just recently trashed a Lee 452-200 SWC mold...but I did a lot of learning on that paticular one and it still cast 20,000+/- good boolits. I use a lot of this boolit design and the Lee molds are cheap by comparison so I keep 2 on hand, one "working" and the other just broken in and waiting its turn.

They obviously are not as tough as a steel mold, and in my experience like to be cast hot (frosted boolits) but other than that they are a great deal and good tools. I have learned to be much easier on my equipment now and I see no reason the current mold wont more than double the life of the first one.

Shiloh
01-08-2008, 02:47 AM
I have cast thousand of boolits in the very same mold. They're about $35 and a six banger mold drains a lead pot in a hurry. Mine is the TL variety.

Shiloh :castmine:

colbyjack
02-16-2008, 11:22 AM
so is one better than the other?

whats the pros and cons of aluminum vs iron?

-chris

MT Gianni
02-16-2008, 11:41 AM
Ford vs Chevy. Aluminum weighs less so it's easier on the hands. A well fitted Al. mold such as LBT or some others put out are great to work with. Iron last longer, holds heat better and has less tendency to being damaged when droppped.