PDA

View Full Version : How much does Linotype sell for?

kellyj00
01-07-2008, 04:46 PM
I'm new to casting and alloys. I have someone trying to sell me 100 lbs of "ex-newspaper type" linotype for 80 cents/lb ($80).

What is this stuff truly worth? Would anyone be interested in trading for wheel weight alloy?

richbug
01-07-2008, 04:52 PM
That would be a good price. I got some at 75 cents and was thrilled to have it.

Somewhere about $1.25 would be a fair market price I would think.

Ricochet
01-07-2008, 07:59 PM
Yeah, I'd grab it at 80¢.

grumpy one
01-07-2008, 08:05 PM
Bear in mind that linotype sold as scrap is usually depleted. This means it will need to have some tin added, and just possibly some antimony as well. If you are planning to use it as an alloy sweetener this doesn't matter, but if you want actual linotype you'll have to refresh the alloy by trial and error. Pure linotype melts at 462*F, and passes from solid to liquid without an intermediate slush stage because it is a true eutectic. Just melt a small sample, with a thermometer, and you'll know whether it is depleted or not.

kellyj00
01-08-2008, 09:39 AM
if I mix depleted linotype with my wheel weight alloy, will that work?

grumpy one
01-08-2008, 06:18 PM
It will work in the sense that you'll get an alloy of WW and whatever your depleted lino consisted of. Most depleted lino seems to be, roughly, 2% tin instead of 4%, but reasonably correct with regard to antimony (12%). I think they used it until it stopped casting well, then stopped. Lino is usable down to 2% tin. So, if your lino doesn't transform from liquid to solid without a mush stage, you probably need to add some tin, starting with 1% and adding another 1% if it is only halfway fixed. For alloying WW and depleted lino, it's best to have some idea how far off the lino is or you won't know what you're going to finish up with.