PDA

View Full Version : Brand new to casting. So new, in fact that

TexasJeff
01-06-2008, 01:52 AM
I haven't even bought my equipment yet.

I've been reloading for better than twenty years now, used to do a lot of competition shooting, and now that I'm older, I'm starting to find a little more time on my hands.

The whole casting thing has been slowly picking away at me for the past ten years, and now it has bit and dug in. Hence, I joined this forum. My contribution to help fund and maintain the site will be headed your way shortly.

I ordered the Lyman casting book as a starting point/point of initial reference. I plan on reading it and asking a number of questions before melting my first ingot I'm also thinking about picking up The Art of Bullet Casting by Dave Wolfe.

Problem is, my daddy reloaded and I would often watch and help him. Everyone in our IPSC club reloaded, so I had lots of help a couple of decades ago to mentor me and kind of watch over my shoulder to make sure I didn't do anything stupid as a result of simply not knowing any better.

I don't know anyone who casts their own bullets here in North Texas--yet, I'm sure there are. Thus, I'm wanting to get some good reference materials handy and read so I'll know what questions to ask.

Anyhow, am absolutely looking forward to getting started.

Jeff

Swamprat1052
01-06-2008, 02:10 AM
Jeff, just spend lots of time on this site. I was in the same boat you are a year or so ago and I am 55 yrs old. I guess you can teach an old dawg new tricks. I just hung out here and asked a lot of questions. These guys will help you any way they can. I dont know it all but I am casting boolits and shooting them. I warn you though, its addictive.

Where are you in North Texas? I stomped around Northeast Texas for about 30 yrs myself. Looking forward to coming back one of these days.

dromia
01-06-2008, 02:58 AM
Hi Jeff

welcome to the forums.

The lads here will have you sorted in no time.