PDA

View Full Version : Wheel Weight Conundrum - HELP NEEDED

michiganmike
04-09-2014, 04:43 PM
Good Afternoon,

I've not posted for awhile. But I really need help. I have been casting my own bullets for the last 6 or 7 years. And since I retired in February, I intend to do a lot more of it.

The problem I am having has to do with wheel weights. I get them from a metal salvage yard in Lansing, MI. Up until the last batch I have had no problem with them. But I melted down a batch earlier this week, after checking to ensure there was no zinc weights in the lot.

I melt them down and fluxed, stirred, pulled out all the wheel weight clasps, etc. as I always do. [Ipour them into a mini-muffin pan. They fit nicely in my Lee 10# bottom pour.]

But once melted to 675 degrees, verified by my Lyman lead thermometer, the top of the pot had a slushy scum on top. The odd part is this slush had a golden sheen to it. And the stuff would not cast a decent bullet. The bullets fell out of the mold porous. No edges were sharp and crisp. They were useless.

I poured out the remaining alloy (whatever it was) and this golden sheen was stuck to the sides of the pot. I scraped and scrubbed it off. And my pot is as clean as I can get it. Pretty clean.

A few minutes ago I finished going through about 15 pounds of wheel weights and checked them again, one by one. If they had paint on them (a few did) I discarded them. If the were too hard for me to make an easy scratch with my thumb nail, I discarded them. If I didn't like the looks of them for any reason - I discarded them. And I will be going through the good ones one more time for a final culling.

If it comes down to it, I will buy my alloy from Roto Metals. But I hate to do that because of the cost involved. And I have had such good results with salvaged wheel weights in the past.