PDA

View Full Version : temp of melt for lee moulds

stumpjumper
12-31-2007, 10:15 PM
hey all! i just bought a lee 6 cavity mould and was wondering after playing with it for a little while do you run your melt at a higher temp. ? i was running right around 750 degrees and i was not real happy with the way the bullets were turning out.
dave

imashooter2
12-31-2007, 10:32 PM
I like to keep the melt between 700 and 750 unless the weight goes under 150 grains. Then I have to bump the temp up a bit and pour really large sprues to keep the blocks hot.

What's your casting rate? I need almost 3 pours a minute to keep the blocks hot.

stumpjumper
12-31-2007, 11:07 PM
ill be honest with you i dont know a couple a minute maybe three the boolits ended up with lines in it like either the melt was too cool. but i ran it up to 800 degrees. so it was probably my speed.
dave

rufracer
12-31-2007, 11:22 PM
im new to this too, but Id say its the temp of your mold. The alum. really cools fast. I had the same prob. yesterday till I started mooving faster. Just keep some ingots handy so you can keep your lead level consistant and dont waste time sorting through boolits until your at a good stopping point. You can set your mold on top, or even in your pot (out of the lead) to keep it hot if you need to. You do have handles on your mold right? I tried it without them using some welding gloves. It sucked.

imashooter2
12-31-2007, 11:37 PM
You do have handles on your mold right? I tried it without them using some welding gloves. It sucked.

No kidding? http://www.ar15.com/images/smilies/anim_rofl2.gif

Sorry man... I guess you just didn't think that one all the way through.

imashooter2
12-31-2007, 11:40 PM
ill be honest with you i dont know a couple a minute maybe three the boolits ended up with lines in it like either the melt was too cool. but i ran it up to 800 degrees. so it was probably my speed.
dave