PDA

View Full Version : Over Powder Wad Usage?

PbHurler
04-03-2014, 10:40 AM
I'm new to muzzleloaders. I have a T/C 50 Hawken.

Do I, or should I, use over powder wads if I use the following bullets from these molds:

Lyman #508656, 370gr Plains Bullet or the Lyman #504617 370gr Maxi.

If I should use wads, what type of material? Vegetable fiber, felt, cork?

Is this another "try it & see how it works for me" thing?

Thanks, from a "greenie"

AlaskanGuy
04-03-2014, 10:43 AM
My understanding is you only need wads with round balls... I have not shot round balls yet, but have shot several different types of boolits with no wads.... The seal is made with the base of the boolit....

AG

dondiego
04-03-2014, 11:04 AM
I would think that a wad would be needed if it improved accuracy when using a boolit. The round ball uses a patch. Really, it is a try it and see. Let your rifle tell you.

johnson1942
04-03-2014, 11:51 AM
all three materials you listed are good, i use 60 thousands fiber wads and others use felt and my neighbors son uses cork rubber gasket material wads. we all swear by all three. the wad should be slightly larger that bore size. the felt should be slightly lubed but not saturated wet.

tomme boy
04-03-2014, 01:57 PM
I use hard felt under conicals and round balls. It works

oldracer
04-03-2014, 03:10 PM