PDA

View Full Version : To the guy joining the navy

silverado
04-02-2014, 11:42 PM
I found the original post and cannot refind it... Please do not count o n the navy to pay you a fair wage.. Pm me and I will talk as much as I can... did you look at the previous years retention? Or promotion?

Love Life
04-02-2014, 11:44 PM
Fair wage? The military pay charts are readily available to make an informed decision. After 10 years I make more than the majority of my buddies who went to college (if they even have jobs anymore) and my benefits are awesome.

silverado
04-02-2014, 11:50 PM
Fair wage? The military pay charts are readily available to make an informed decision. After 10 years I make more than the majority of my buddies who went to college (if they even have jobs anymore) and my benefits are awesome.

I was mostly considering officer vs enlisted, vs sub, vs surface. FYI I am a 1st class submarine electrician nuclear trained lpo currently on shore duty. My last sea duty I was LPO because 2 sea returnees could not handle the stress and either Attempted suicide or gave signs that they would do it...

Love Life
04-02-2014, 11:53 PM
A lot of suicide going around lately.

silverado
04-02-2014, 11:56 PM
A lot of suicide going around lately.

Yes and it is very unfortunate.... The first of my 2 lpo went "sad" and cut his wrists on watch.... my 2nd tapped out... went to the religious dude and said he couldn't do anymore.... th I s is while my green *** (rhymes with grass) was on my first sea duty. If at all possible I want to help the guy...

silverado
04-03-2014, 12:02 AM
Also besides that does he have a family? Are they rooted where they live? There a too many questions to ask in one post but you get the picture.... you can't base it on base pay.... etc...

Love Life
04-03-2014, 12:03 AM
Here is the link to the thread: http://castboolits.gunloads.com/showthread.php?236941-Enlisting-in-the-Navy-and-continuing-education

wnmGng
04-03-2014, 04:57 PM