PDA

View Full Version : 7mm mag with cast boolits

gtgeorge
04-01-2014, 12:09 PM
I am fairly new to rifle reloading with cast and am getting ready to try my hand at loading cast in my 7mm mag. I know there are many other better choices to load cast in and am doing that as well. I am sure magnums are not the best choice since they were designed for speed and loading CB in their place defeats that purpose but that is a rifle I have and would like to get it to shoot lead if it can be done okay.

With that said I have been following discussions concerning the gas check being installed inside the case and seems the bullet I have is going to require doing just that.

With so many very experienced and knowledgeable folks here I would appreciate any experience or feedback that can be offered to either help guide my way or shoot this project down. The mold I am using is an RCBS 7mm-168-SP and is casting 180gr lubed and checked with 3-3-94 alloy. I am using Hornady checks and looks like I will need to seat the bullet with the check well inside the case past the neck.

Tanks for any advice you can offer.

375RUGER
04-01-2014, 03:43 PM
Have you done an impact slug of the throat? Or at least loaded one to see how far it needs to be seated? Impact slug will also tell you what size your boolit should be.
You can leave the top lube groove exposed if need be.

gtgeorge
04-01-2014, 05:10 PM
I have not and have never done it before at all. Guess it is time to learn. I did hower do a dummy round which showed rifling marks very lightly along most of the nose and did a redneck adjustment by inserting bullet and marking a dowel inserted into the barrel and then to the bolt face the same way I determined my jacketed load that is loaded very long. What I came up with has the check well inside the case and any longer would not chamber. 101128

runfiverun
04-01-2014, 08:00 PM
put some powder in the case and try it.
quite often the gas check being in the case is a non event.