PDA

View Full Version : bullet lube and gas checks

stepdonn
03-25-2014, 11:36 AM
hope this is the place to ask this I am new to casing bullets and lubes and reloading. I'am planning on pan lubing before I size and gas check my bullets .Is there any reason that I can not pan lube before I install gas checks and size using a lyman 450 to do the work just not going to use the lube from the lyman 450 Just would like to know it the lube would interfere with the gas check insulation

mdi
03-25-2014, 11:50 AM
I do some gas checked bullets in pan lube, but I install the checks first, on a clean shank. I haven't tried to lube first, seems to be less messy with checks on first, and checks will stay in place during installation...

dondiego
03-25-2014, 12:01 PM
Just curious as to why you would pan lube when you have a Lyman 450 which can seat check, size, and lube all in one operation??

Big Boomer
03-25-2014, 12:02 PM
Unfortunately, when you pan lube, the lube will stick to that area where the gas check will be installed and to do it that way is somewhat messy. Best to install the gas check before pan lubing. However, if you are going to use a lube/sizer anyway, why not just put the gas check on the base of the boolits before you run the boolits into the sizer, use the Lyman 450 to lube the boolits and eliminate the pan lubing altogether? Is your Lyman 450 functional? I still have a lot to learn, but your approach requires you to do the same thing twice. Big Boomer

quilbilly
03-25-2014, 01:00 PM
In my experience, I have found that I can pan lube then gas check if they are Hornady checks but with Lyman checks I have to put them on first then pan lube.

stepdonn
03-25-2014, 03:48 PM
just wanted to use the lyman for seating gas checks and sizing bullets but the die sizer need lube before use as not to get fouled with lead

Love Life
03-25-2014, 03:53 PM