PDA

View Full Version : Some Questions for the Experts from a "NEWBIE CASTER"

Laredo
03-23-2014, 12:07 PM
Sorry for the long winded intial post.
I am somewhat new to casting my own "boolits". Outside of roundballs for muzzle loaders, I have been playing with casting for about a year. Like many, I started with a Lee C309-150-F mold for a 30-30 AND a 308 Win. I have since bought Lee molds for other rifle calibers as well as "tumble lube" molds for the usual pistol calibers in the common jacketed bullet weights i.e. .452-230gr., 9mm-124gr., .358-158gr., etc.
I don't know if the Lee Alox Tumble lube is a good thing or not but I hope to hear more about it.
Now just so you know, I am interested in achieving velocities similiar to conventional jacketed bullets in both my rifles as well as my pistols. I have a friend who is a boolit caster and he told me about paper patching for higher velocities. (He also told me he didn't have much luck with it). I have been reloading conventional bullets for some time, but I can plainly see that I have alot to learn about casting and will be among some excellant company here on the Cast Boolits Forum.
For a little history, my first castings with the Lee C309 mold I was able to acquire some clip on wheel weights. I melted those down on my Coleman gas stove and fluxed with candle wax as I recall. I then sized, lubed/gas checked those and loaded and fired at low velocities. Accuracy was quite good in my Marlin 336 with open sights.
After some experimenting I starting playing with the paper thing. On my very first attempt, I started by using masking tape 1/2" wide wrapped one full circumference around the .309 bullet as I could get but no more. I then gas checked, lubed and sized those.
I used a recipe of crayons/lithium grease and bees wax for the lube that my bud gave me.