PDA

View Full Version : Newbie Here! Hello from Missouri!

RacingRedGT
03-18-2014, 07:26 PM
Just saying Hello. Ive been reloading for a while now. Decided to expand my hobbies. Ive been reading like a fiend and have started compiling equipment and lead (wheel weights). I started collecting wheel weights about 2 weeks ago, up to 240lbs of lead. Picking up another 400+lbs tomorrow. In my line of work I get a chance to meet a lot of people. My networking skills are paying off.

So far Ive melted down 94lbs of ingots. Heres a few pictures. I was excited when I came home today to see my order from MidwayUsa sitting on my doorstep. Its pays off living 2 hours away from them. I get my orders in 2 days.

The ingots are not the prettiest. I learned quite a bit in the first session of melting down the wheel weights.

1) Zinc is a sneaky sucker. Looks are deceiving. Thought I got them all when sorting, missed 3-4 in a 100lb bucket. Thankfully I kept the temps in the 650-700 range as a precaution.
2) Putting hot molds on a carpet was dumb and didn't realize it would melt it within seconds. Switched to large paving stones very quickly.
3) Neighbors and passerby's give you weird looks when are fully dressed in warm weather while wearing a breathing mask and welding gloves.
4) Level ground in a must, lop sided ingots don't stack well and look funny.
5) Heat, Heat and more Heat. It took forever to get the first batch going. I didn't want to overheat, so I kept the flame down. After about an hour and decided to crank it to get it going. Lid helped too. Went to Home Depot last night, bought some steel flashing and made a heat shield.

I love this site by the way. Ive learned so much and there is a ton of reading left. Im going to keep it simple for now and just do wheel weights. Seems like a good starting point. Don't have to worry about adding to much to it to make bullets for my .44mag or .40s. Hardness should be good enough, as long as I flux good to keep the tin in.