PDA

View Full Version : Vv n 105 ?

butch2570
03-09-2014, 02:24 PM
My LGS has and has had for over a year , about 11 pounds of n 105 on the shelf along with 5000 6.5 Remington primers , which I'm aware of the dangers of shooting in high pressure cartridges. My question are since I have never used either of these two before can someone tell me is this powder any good for anything other than heavy full house loads in a 44 and 357 mag , can it be reduced back and how clean is it? And could these primers be used in low pressure 222 rem loads or be used in low velocity 38 / 357 mag loads without any issues?

Bonz
03-09-2014, 02:29 PM
I use VV N105 in my .357 "light" loads by choice, 10grns under a 158grn bullet (about 1000 fps) and also in my S&W 500 mag, 27grns under a 350grn bullet (about 1600fps)

Tatume
03-09-2014, 02:37 PM
Very slow pistol powders should not be used in reduced loads. N105 is suitable for full powder loads in 357 Magnum and 44 Magnum as you already know. Starting load for a 158 jacketed bullet gives 1400 fps. It is not suitable for reduced loads.

http://www.lapua.com/en/products/reloading/vihtavuori-reloading-data/relodata/6/27

Also, I believe Remington specifically states that 6-1/2 primers are not for use in 222 or 223 Remington rifle cartridges.

butch2570
03-09-2014, 02:50 PM
Very slow pistol powders should not be used in reduced loads. N105 is suitable for full powder loads in 357 Magnum and 44 Magnum as you already know. Starting load for a 158 jacketed bullet gives 1400 fps. It is not suitable for reduced loads.

http://www.lapua.com/en/products/reloading/vihtavuori-reloading-data/relodata/6/27

Also, I believe Remington specifically states that 6-1/2 primers are not for use in 222 or 223 Remington rifle cartridges.