PDA

View Full Version : Best method for cleaning the spout area on Lee 10 lb bottom pour pot.

tazman
03-05-2014, 12:28 AM
I have an ancient Lee 10lb bottom pour pot that I have been using off and on for about 30 years. I have finally run enough alloy through it that the stream is getting very thin and intermittent. I have drained and cleaned the interior of the pot but I can't see a good way to clean the spout hole.
I tried a torch but this only helped for a few minutes and didn't clean it. I tried a small nail but there seems to be a bend in the spout hole and the nail won't go all the way through.
I don't want to destroy it trying something forceful.
This is an issue I've never had with this pot before.
I am open for suggestions here and defer to your greater experience.
Thanks in advance

KYShooter73
03-05-2014, 02:56 AM
On the 20lb bottom pour, I drain it, remove the plunger, rub it down with course steel wool, and swirl steel wool around down inside the spout. I also get out my flashlight and use a small pick or screwdriver to chip out any gunk down in the spout.

bruce drake
03-05-2014, 04:47 AM
I bought a Lyman Ladle and then screwed a wood screw into the nozzle and took out the plunger mechanism. Did that 15 years ago and its been a great pot ever since.

357shooter
03-05-2014, 05:39 AM
I use a paper clip, a medium size one. It'll fit through the hole just fine. I don't think there is a bend in it, the nail must be to big.

tazman
03-05-2014, 08:47 AM
I use a paper clip, a medium size one. It'll fit through the hole just fine. I don't think there is a bend in it, the nail must be to big.

That is a possibility. I didn't have a lot to choose from last night. It seemed to go part way in then hit an obstruction of some kind. as if it wanted to turn slightly. I may be wrong about that as the pot was still hot and had some lead in it. I will check it again today as things are cooler.

.5mv^2
03-05-2014, 09:18 AM