PDA

View Full Version : Quick and dirty .38 special

chickenmcnasty
02-23-2014, 04:22 PM
Hey all,

I'm a novice caster. I've been doing .490 roundball, lee real and minie ball for my muzzleloaders. As such, I have been using pure lead to do this.
Enter the gp100 .357 revolver that is on the way. I have a friend that has all reloading equipment and .38 special dies. He does not cast bullets.
I'm wondering if there is a cheap and easy way to mix an alloy without throwing down money on a hardness tester. Is it possible to weigh everything and add tin/antimony to get "in the neighborhood" without hardness testing?
Also, is sizing the bullets necessary? I would appreciate any guidance I can get. Thank you

fecmech
02-23-2014, 04:34 PM
Don't get too rapped around the axle over hardness testers. I've managed to cast a little over 40 years without one, casting for magnum pistols and a smattering of rifles. The .38/.357 is an excellent place to start, jump in and start swimming.

Idz
02-23-2014, 04:37 PM
I use soft range scrap in my S&W model10 38 spl for plinking loads with no problem. I think the LASC website will give you lots of alloy recipes if you want to go up to 357 velocities.

MUSTANG
02-23-2014, 04:52 PM
ChickenmcNasty:

I would recommend using 38 Special brass cases and either a 148 wad cutter or 158 grn semi-wad cutter with 2.5 to 3 grs of Bullseye or Red Dot powder. Following two links provide sample Lee molds for these two. Hodgdon Clays, Titegroup, W-231, and 700-X are other powders; but you need to look up load data for them. This would work well for you since you all ready have the 38 special dies. In my muiltiple 357's I routinely use 38 Special brass, and on rare occasions 357 brass and loads.

http://www.midwayusa.com/product/623052/lee-2-cavity-bullet-mold-358-148-wc-38-special-357-magnum-38-colt-new-police-38-s-and-w-358-diameter-148-grain-wadcutter