PDA

View Full Version : So tell me a bit about your experiance with Oath Keepers

mpbarry1
02-21-2014, 08:20 PM
I have never served in the Military, which is a regret of mine. However, I have been a volunteer Firefighter, Assistant Chief, and now Chief for small departments for 24 years now. One of the things that I am considering implementing is the administration of an Oath to the board, officers and firefighters on our department. When I mentioned this to my guys, a few were excited, and the rest were ok with it. I do have a couple of folks that said "as long as it doesn't mean we are tea party members". lol. Of course said that I didn't have anything to do with those liberal bastages. :kidding:

I have read the Oath Keepers site and am interested in them. I know they say that first responders are eligible, but I can't help but feel inadequate in the face of the sacrifices that our military men have given. I certainly don't want to join and feel inadequate in face of the hero's who have joined before me, or to lessen the impact that those hero's represent.

What are your thoughts of the Oath Keepers?

perotter
02-21-2014, 09:51 PM
They seem to friendly and honest enough for me. Most likely you'd be more than welcomed by them. They are very interested in having those who are like minded and are willing in being active in the organization, military/LEO service record or not.

And given what you do as an occupation(a leader in emergency services), they just might be very excited if you joined and got involved.

Echo
02-21-2014, 10:02 PM
As an Oathkeeper ( I swore to defend the Constitution several times), I have no problem at all having first responders next to me in this association. And your idea to have your folks perform the same oath is commendable.

Jammersix
02-21-2014, 10:03 PM
There's no problem with keeping an oath.

The problem is who decides what constitutes a breach of the oath, what action is necessary to keep the oath, and how that decision is made.