PDA

View Full Version : Salvaging Zinc Contaminated WW ingots

Republic of Alberta
12-17-2007, 08:51 PM
I am new to casting, so as a newbie I made the mistake of melting my WW without a thermometer and got some Zinc melted in there too. I did a search here and found it was suggested I could bring my pot down to 650 and skim off some of the zinc. Being that I have about 50lbs of bad alloy I would like to save it if I can. Obviously I will get a thermometer before I do this:grin:

My question is if I do this will I still be able to make good heat treated bullets? I intend to load some hard .710 round balls in a 12g as well as 30cal for general shooting. The round balls are meant to be super hard penetrators that won't break up. Will having some Zinc (what ever I cannot skim out) cause my round balls to be brittle? Will I be able to fill out a 30cal mould with out a problem?

Anyone save a screw up like this before?

STP
12-17-2007, 09:15 PM
I can`t speak to how it would effect your RB`s but I can tell you that having cast cores with a tin/zinc alloy (in increasing percentages of zinc) on request that you have a chore ahead of you.
By the time I got to the upper percentages of zinc, the nozzle would not close fully, and the remnants left behind on the pot walls was (is) a total mess.
I tried 20lbs of my ww alloy thru it afterwards at maximum temperature, fluxed and skimmed, then poured it out, yet the zinc remains stubbornly adhereing to the pot walls...rather like cake frosting that will not budge.
Anyone ever drill out the rivets from a RCBS 20lb Pro-Melt to remove the pot liner from the furnace? Surely not a warranty issue...?
What a PITA.

Do you have a similar "film" left behind?
Also, do your RB`s have a "fuzzy" surface finish to them?

Republic of Alberta
12-17-2007, 09:33 PM