PDA

View Full Version : Newbie here

lunicy
12-13-2007, 03:39 PM
Do you need to drop castings into water? Where is the limit with lead with rifles? With or Without gas checks?

mooman76
12-13-2007, 04:46 PM
That question cannot be answered simply. It has too many variables and you will get lots of different answers. It depends on the speeded fired, type of rifle, type of powder w/ or w/o gas checks how hard the lead(alloy) is,lube and so on. A good hard lead bullet with gas check and good lube can be fired up to around 2000 fps but some have claimed to go considerably beyond that.
W/O gas checks you can go up to around 1400fps.
You don't need to drop the bullets into water but that will help harden rather than add allot of alloy you may not have. This is also disputed by some.
Rifle cast is harder to do than pistol and get good results in the end because of the spped of bullet and length of travel through the barrel. I have had good success in pistols without much trouble but am only now after a couple years starting to get good but limited success in rifles. And by the way. Welcome to the board!

testhop
12-13-2007, 06:06 PM
welcome to the board we mised you
ww for rifles yes???or maybe hand gun no it realey depends on what you are going to
shoot them in and how fast

mag_01
12-13-2007, 06:42 PM
Welcome to the board --- This is where good information and good people abound

Mag_01

jhalcott
12-13-2007, 07:25 PM
that is a PROPER name for a caster, welcome to the asylum!

lunicy
12-13-2007, 09:13 PM
Well I have a ruger .45 acp, A taurus 9mm, S&W 38 spl, S&W 44 mag, Beretta .40, Glock 9mm, Tommy Gun (.45), AR-15 (.223/5.56), Mauser 7.65 mm, SKS 7.62x39, and soon a M-1 Garand (.30-06), Winchester 94 (.30-30), and maybe a Rem 700 (.30-06)
what can I shoot lead "boolits" in.