PDA

View Full Version : Need help with my new career - Please!

obssd1958
02-07-2014, 05:28 PM
With all of the folks with different backgrounds and experiences on this board, I have decided to humble myself, and come to you all for some help.
I have an Associates degree in Electronics Engineering, and worked for a large Semiconductor outfit for almost 19 years. When I was let go at almost 50 years old, I found it pretty much impossible to get another position in the industry. I figure the reason was, it was cheaper for them to hire someone half my age for half the wage. Circumstances that convinced me that I didn't ever want to let someone else hold my future in their hands.
I have been trying to get a handyman business off the ground for the last several years, but have had very little success.
One of the reasons, is the lack of advertising - based on the lack of funding to properly start a business. Craigslist is a farce. As soon as I get an ad up there, I get bombarded with spam and scams. Local newspaper ads are expensive, and have a very limited readership anymore. No way I can afford radio or TV. Word of mouth has been very positive, but moves very s-l-o-w-l-y !
I'm a hard worker and can do just about anything that I set my mind to. I have been trying to focus my business on doing things for those that can't physically do these things for themselves, either due to age or medical disability. Even the small things, like changing light bulbs, moving furniture, cutting limbs, cleaning gutters, touching up paint, replacing faucets, putting batteries in smoke detectors, etc...
I've also installed new gates in a wooden fence, new exterior door with a doggy entrance, finished a storage shed into a man cave (complete with wiring to run all the casting tools, lights, heating, and A/C), roofing repairs, and replacement of damaged sheetrock on a ceiling @30 feet off the floor of a commercial building.