PDA

View Full Version : Question for Boolit Casters

SgtDog0311
01-26-2014, 09:48 PM
OK… got a few hours to cast with a new mold and I’m a little surprised. I’m by no means an expert but I’ve got ten molds and cast for each of the calibers in my Marlin levers and most of the time with all but this new one the edge of the bases fill out very tight in the mold and drop with a crisp edge. If I have a bit of role-over on the gas checked bullets I don’t always reject those but I normally do with the plain base.

This LBT mold for my 38-55 is a two cavity with one being gas checked and the other being plain base. The thing is I cast about 150 of each today and virtually all of them came out with some role-over. They are pretty uniform so I think they wouldn’t be out of balance but I’m just wondering. At first I thought it was the temp and went both up and down but no real change. I cast this session with straight ww.

Any thoughts after looking at the pictures would be appreciated. I’m curious if the casters out here think this is a problem or not?

William Yanda
01-26-2014, 09:51 PM
Tell us about your alloy, and any temperature issues while casting. I am eager to learn from your experience.
Bill

bhn22
01-26-2014, 10:02 PM
I suspect you don't have the mold hot enough, or perhaps you're lacking in tin. LBT molds are extremely well vented.

Pb2au
01-26-2014, 10:13 PM
I'm thinking you might be a bit cool on the mold temp. +1 for also wondering what your alloy is.

slim1836
01-26-2014, 10:22 PM
He did mention using straight WW, I suspect more tin needed and/or hotter mold. Perhaps speeding up casting would keep the mold hotter.

Slim

wv109323
01-26-2014, 10:36 PM
What the others have said plus the sprue plate may be a little cold.

SgtDog0311
01-27-2014, 11:25 AM