PDA

View Full Version : Leaving a pot pull of lead

aviator41
01-24-2014, 10:33 AM
I've had a hard time finding information on this particular subject. I'm just getting started and don't have an ingot mold, so I'm in a quandary.

A friend has donated a very large amount of lead to myself and my song for casting so naturally, we jumped at the chance. We cast a few bullets last night before the cold really got to us and we had to stop. So, I chose to fill up the pot with lead, heat it properly, flux and skim the dross, then let it cool to solid in the pot before putting it up for the night. I know that Lee recommends leaving an inch or so in the pot between sessions to speed in heating, but is there any reason why I shouldn't leave the pot FULL of lead?

I don't want to damage equipment obviously, and I can't see how I could hurt anything, so any opinions are appreciated!

USAFrox
01-24-2014, 10:38 AM
No problem with leaving it full. Won't damage anything.

DeanWinchester
01-24-2014, 10:42 AM
I have not seen the bottom of my Lyman pot in years. I only ever cast down to half a pot or so and add more.

Walter Laich
01-24-2014, 10:56 AM
just don't drop it on your foot and you'll be fine

mikeym1a
01-24-2014, 11:04 AM
It'll take a bit longer to warm up, but no damage. Have fun! I've thought of doing some smelting, but at +9.5F, I'm not so sure I'm up to it! But I have thought of it! [smilie=1:

dragon813gt
01-24-2014, 11:07 AM
I leave mine full when I know I will be casting again in the next day or so. It shouldn't hurt anything.

country gent
01-24-2014, 11:11 AM
I leave mine full or where its at when done. Allows it to melt faster as there is no air space to lose heat to. When mine is solid and still warm I put a little wax around the edge of the pot and lead to act as a moisture barrier. Burns off with thenext heating. The only issue is the added wieght to the pot when moving it. Since I have pots designated for my main alloies its easier this way for me.