PDA

View Full Version : 303 Brit and cast bullets

08-30-2005, 09:01 PM
I am fairly new to casting-so far handgun only,but I have an Aussie No. 1 MK III that seems to be suitable for my new hobby. I am interested in others experiences in loading for the 303 British-sizing diameters,bullet styles,lubes etc. One more thing - what size gas checks are used for this caliber? THANKS!!

StarMetal
08-30-2005, 09:10 PM

A good bullet for the 303 is the Lyman 314299. Not to be confused with the 311299 which is the same bullet but smaller diameter. The 314299 was made for overly large 30 caliber bores and 303 British. As for size you have to slug your bore and mike the bullet and determine from that. I might at that alot of 303 British rifles have five groove rifling so you need a special mike to mike the bullet. You want the bullet groove rings to be .001 to .002 over the barrels groove diameter. You would also want to fit the bullet to the throat of the barrel. Others here will chime in with other bullets and more info.

Joe

Johnch
08-30-2005, 09:26 PM
I use 2 Lee molds for my 303 , #4 Mk1
The C312-185 Is Lee's 303 bullet

The Lee C312-155 is for the 7.62 x 39 but works well for me

Both bullets shoot best as cast from water droped WW + 2% tin, I just push them into the sizing die enough to crimp on the gas check .

I then lube with Lee liquid Alox .

I use fire formed cases that are neck sized only
I shoot moderate charges of AA 5744

Johnch

Buckshot
08-31-2005, 02:14 AM
I am fairly new to casting-so far handgun only,but I have an Aussie No. 1 MK III that seems to be suitable for my new hobby. I am interested in others experiences in loading for the 303 British-sizing diameters,bullet styles,lubes etc. One more thing - what size gas checks are used for this caliber? THANKS!!